Making Cups


At the moment I’m living at home, working full time and life is a breeze. My Mum tends to cook for the household so I get in on the feeds she puts on the table, I live right next to church because my Dad is the Vicar so on Sunday’s I can roll out of bed at 9:50 and still be early for the 10am service. And, get this; Dad sometimes even folds my washing! I unequivocally hate folding washing, so for me, this is a King’s life.

However, last year I was living in a pretty different situation. I was studying full time, flatting in Mt Eden, working part time flipping burgers late into the night to make ends meet, and living in a room converted from a porch that was the size of a double bed and had astro-turf for carpet. I had the full ‘student flatting experience.’

Because my flatmates were in similar situations to me, or were alternative enough to try new things, when we broke a few cups getting rowdy we explored ways of recycling what we did have to replace what we’d broken. One way we did this was by using jars as cups. But another way was to turn our beer bottles into the same with some good old kiwi ingenuity. If you’re the crafty, creative type, or the desperate flatting student, you might like to try this too. Here is the recipe we used:

Ingredients:
– Bottles: Carona work the best in my experience
– Wool or string
– Deodorant spray or flammable liquid
– Matches
– A sink or bucket full of cold water
– Sandpaper
– Newspaper

Method:
1) Soak some wool or string in lynx, and then tie this round the bottle just below where the bottle neck fans out.

2) Light this string/wool on fire with a match while holding the bottle horizontally. Gradually rotate the bottle around so that the fire can heat up a full circle round the glass. The longer you let the bottle heat up the better. I’d recommend about 2 minutes.

3) When you’ve let a ring of glass heat up, drop the bottle into some cold water (either in the sink or in a bucket) and the top should pop off because of the temperature change. (Don’t use Heineken or Steinlager…Or any bottle that’s green. They break jagged rather than in a clean line).

4) Once that’s done, you just need to dry the glass down, wrap the bottleneck up in newspaper so you can throw it away safely, and sand down the rim of your new cup with sand paper.

5) Happy flatting. Just don’t burn the house down or cut yourself.

Peace.

Jeremy Harris

Leave a Reply

