My favourite albums of 2014

2014 – what a year. Here is a very brief breakdown of some my favourite albums from this year (in no particular order). Let me know if you agree/disagree and what albums are on your list of favourites from this year!

KIMBRA:

140610-kimbra-golden-echo-album-cover

Kimbra – The Golden Echo. What an album. This album is unbelievable, Kimbra’s uniqueness, artistry and personality comes out in full force and it is incredible to listen to! Plus there is some sneaky stuff in their about religion and spirituality.

Fav track: Miracle (I challenge you to try not to dance while listening to this track!)

THE ARCTIC MONKEYS:
arctic-monkeys-am-artwork

The Arctic Monkeys – AM. I KNOW THIS ALBUM CAME OUT IN 2013. But I only discovered this year and I honestly haven’t stopped listening to it. The bass lines, lyrics, melodies and falsetto all combine to make on kick ass album.

Fav tracks: Do I Wanna Know, R U Mine, One For The Road, Arabella, Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High, Snap Out Of It, I Wanna Be Yours (Pretty much the whole album).

BROOKE FRASER:

cover_3

Brooke Fraser – Brutal Romantic. As the biggest fan of Brooke Fraser in the whole world – I was so excited for this that I pre-ordered it (which I NEVER do). I must admit, it took me a while to warm to this one. As someone who has been inspired by everything that Brooke has ever done ever, this departure from everything we have come to know from her came as a bit of a shock (as I think it did for most people). But my advice would be: give this album a chance. Honestly. The more I listen to this, the more I fall in love with it. I didn’t fall instantly, but the more I listen the more I get out of this piece of art and that’s almost the best thing about it. It is a gift that keeps on giving.

Fav tracks: Start A War and Brutal Romantic (which was written in haiku – how cool is that?!)

TAYLOR SWIFT:
Taylor-Swift-1989-Deluxe-Edition-Target-1500x1500

Taylor Swift – 1989. This was a shoe-in for sure. I absolutely adore this album, have had in on repeat since it was released and am showing no signs of getting sick of it just yet. It is upbeat pop at it’s best. My advice would be to definitely get the deluxe album as two of my favourite tracks are only available as bonus tracks. As well as some voice memos which are pretty awesome too.

Fav tracks: Blank Space, Style, Out Of The Woods, Wildest Dreams, I Know Places, Clean, Wonderland (DLX) and New Romantics (DLX) (so again – pretty much the whole thing!).

ED SHEERAN:

ed-sheeran-x-album-coverEd Sheeran – ‘X’ (Multiply). THIS ALBUM. I almost forgot about this one (because it seems like it came out forever ago) but I couldn’t leave Ed off the list. In an interview, Ed said that the concept behind this album was just to be bigger and better than his debut album, ‘+’ (Plus). And he definitely delivers.

Fav tracks: One, Photograph, Tenerife Sea, Thinking Out Loud

GEORGE EZRA:

GeorgeEzra_WOV_Standard_600x600-300x300

George Ezra – Wanted On Voyage. This guy burst onto the scene with his deep voice and acoustic guitar with the track ‘Budapest’ and the rest of the album follows along a similar path. Highlight for me is the music video for Listen To The Man which features Ian McKellen. Epic.

Fav tracks: Budapest, Blame It On Me, Listen To The Man.

EZRA VINE:

artworks-000053993736-6qnrrr-t500x500Ezra Vine – Celeste EP. This kiwi living in London burst onto the scene last year with ‘Celeste’ which is one of favourite songs from the last few years. It’s gorgeous. His EP is pretty gorgeous too – his songwriting style is beautiful, reflective and poetic. Perfect for a chill summer!

Fav tracks: Celeste and He Won’t Knock.

 – Eleanor Calder.

Leave a Reply

