Discovering Podcasts

I know, podcasts are nothing new. And it’s not like I didn’t know what they were, I’d just never actually deliberately downloaded one. Until this week.

I study full time and work part time, both in the city, so I catch a lot of buses. For the past few years I have listened to music on these buses, the same songs and albums over and over again. The result is me spending the hour plus I spend doing nothing but sitting down withdrawn and dazed. Like a zombie.

I read a blogpost at the beginning of this year about small things you can do that maybe aid in your new years resolutions. One of these points was downloading podcasts to make the most of your daily commute. So I downloaded Serial.

I’ve heard Serial mentioned a number of times before, in many lists of ‘Podcast You Must Listen To’. After listening to the first 10 minutes I was hooked (like, what seems, is the rest of the world).serial-social-logo

I find describing Serial difficult, so you can read about it on their website. But I can say it is engrossing, fascinating and brilliantly done (note: language warning). There are 12 episodes in the first season (about an hour each) with a second season coming out this year.

Once I finished Serial (I listened to it religiously so it didn’t take me long) I started listening to another podcast I read great things about called The Moth.

mza_4394232287806930006.600x600-75

The Moth is essentially stories. Stories from people from all over America told all over America. The stories are unscripted and live, and are the most incredible mix of funny, happy, uplifting, sad and reflective. (There is also a language warning here).

WNYC_Radiolab_logo.svg

Radiolab is kind of like those children’s after school science programs but for adults. From their website: “Radiolab is a show about curiosity. Where sound illuminates ideas, and the boundaries blur between science, philosophy, and human experience.”

What podcasts do you listen to religiously?

Leave a Reply

