#Squadgoals Story

IMG_0064With the upcoming Grace Collective event, “#SquadGoals”, I have been thinking quite a lot about what it means. So let me share my story with you.

Growing up, I was bullied quite a lot and always felt like I didn’t fit in. My only ‘Squad Goal’ was to have a squad. I thought that if I found a squad to gate crash, that things might start looking up. This meant that I spent a lot of my time trying my best to please others and trying to fit into the mould of those around me.

Needless to say, one squad went by after another and nothing really changed. I made a few friends along the way, but things still didn’t feel right and I continued to feel like I didn’t belong anywhere. That was until I joined youth group. Having found a group of people that accepted me for who I was and encouraged me to be myself, was not only eye opening but also a little scary. I finally accepted that gate crashing a squad wasn’t going to fix all my problems, and neither was trying to change who I was. Over the years, I finally felt like I belonged somewhere, and that I had a home-away-from-home; a community. I slowly started to feel comfortable enough to act like myself and I can safely say that I now have several lovely groups of friends who accept me for who I am (warts and all).

So, there are two things I’d like to say: first is don’t change yourself for others, rather, find people who accept you for who you are. That’s when you’ll find your real squad. And second: be more accepting of others. Take the time to know the real them.

Come and have a chat about #SquadGoals at Crave Café, May 11th – see you there!


Belle is an after school nanny, web master for St Aidan’s in Remuera and part time office assistant at Treetools New Zealand. Previously she was one of two youth pastors at St Aidan’s and she now continues to be involved with various aspects of the church. She loves photography, reading, watching movies, and having a good laugh in her spare time.

Leave a Reply

